If you’ve been involved in a car accident in the State of Florida, you might be wondering what to do next and what your options are for compensation. Car insurance is required by law in the Sunshine State, so it’s likely that you’re covered in some form or fashion.
However, it might have been a while since you’ve reviewed the terms and conditions of your policy. And to complicate things further, Florida is one of the few states with “no-fault” car insurance rules, making it more difficult to file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver.
Fortunately, the Florida car accident attorneys with Hollander Law Firm Accident Injury Lawyers can help you understand your legal options from the get-go.
Since we were founded in 1996, we’ve recovered tens of millions of dollars on behalf of our deserving clients, and our lawyers have a combined 28 years of experience in the field.
Table of Contents
How Hollander Law Firm Accident Injury Lawyers Can Help After a Car Accident in Florida?
A car accident can result in a number of serious consequences. If you were injured in the crash, you might have medical bills to deal with on top of your pain and suffering. And if you’ve had to take time off work due to the crash, you might be placed in a strenuous financial position.
With Florida’s unique car insurance rules, your own insurance company may not be able to compensate you adequately.
In select car accident scenarios in Florida, you can still collect compensation directly from the at-fault party or their insurance company. However, whether you can do so will come down to the nature of the accident and the injuries you’ve sustained.
Hollander Law Firm Accident Injury Lawyers is one of the most recognized personal injury law firms in the area and is here to assist you with your claim.
Our lead Florida car accident attorney, Gregg Hollander, has a perfect 10 rating on the prominent legal directory Avvo, and knows what it takes to effectively fight for the rights of personal injury victims in Florida. When you hire our legal team, we’ll be able to:
- Conduct an investigation into your car accident to determine the liable parties and to collect evidence
- Hire experts, if necessary, to analyze your case or testify on your behalf at trial
- Take care of all the insurance-related procedures, paperwork, and communications
- Negotiate a fair settlement agreement with the other party to your case
- Bring your case to court if the other side will not settle
If you’re ready to get started or would like to speak with a qualified personal injury attorney about your case, give us a call today. Your initial consultation is free of charge and without any obligations.
An Overview of Florida Car Insurance Law
Florida is one of the relatively rare states that has adopted a “no-fault” car insurance system. According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), each vehicle registered in the state must comply with the following insurance requirements:
- Minimum $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage and $10,000 in Property Damage Liability (PDL) coverage; OR
- If the vehicle is a taxi, the vehicle must carry Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) coverage of $125,000 per person, $250,000 per accident, and $50,000 in PDL coverage
PIP insurance covers 80% of all “reasonable and necessary” medical expenses after a car accident up to $10,000. You can receive benefits under this coverage regardless of whether the accident was your fault or not. PDL insurance covers damage to another person’s property that you cause, also up to $10,000.
The primary benefit of this system is that you can recover benefits even if you caused the accident. As such, your best course of action after a car accident in Florida is to contact your PIP insurance provider to receive compensation for most of your medical bills.
The downside of this system becomes clear if you’re involved in a car accident that wasn’t your fault and that leaves you with substantial losses. Unlike in “at-fault” car insurance states, you usually cannot sue the driver who caused the accident for additional compensation – except in limited circumstances, which we’ll cover below.
When You Can File a Claim for Additional Compensation in Florida
Florida law allows car accident victims to sue the driver responsible for their losses only if their injury meets the state’s “serious injury” threshold. Under this law, the following types of injuries can qualify you to file a lawsuit:
- Significant and permanent loss of an important bodily function
- Permanent injury within a reasonable degree of medical probability, other than scarring or disfigurement
- Significant and permanent scarring or disfigurement
- Death (allowing for a wrongful death claim)
Importantly, if you can file a claim under this law against the at-fault driver, you’ll be able to pursue both economic and non-economic damages. Medical bills are just one type of economic damages; others include lost wages, decreased earning capacity, and repair costs.
Non-economic damages represent your losses that aren’t financial in nature, like your pain and suffering, emotional distress, and loss of consortium. Oftentimes, your non-economic damages claim will comprise most of the value of your overall car accident claim.
How Much Time Do I Have To File a Claim After a Car Accident in the State of Florida?
After a car accident in Florida, you must receive medical care within 14 days of the accident in order to utilize your PIP benefits.
If you’re eligible to file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver, you will have two years from the date of the accident to file your claim in most cases. There are exceptions to this two-year deadline, however.
We encourage you to reach out to our legal team if you have any questions about the deadlines that may apply to your case, as we’ll be able to provide insight during your free case evaluation.
Schedule a Free Case Review With a Qualified Car Wreck Lawyer in Boca Raton
There are pros and cons to Florida’s no-fault car insurance system. But at the end of the day, what matters most is recovering the compensation you need and deserve after an accident.
Whether it’s helping you understand the options available to you under your insurance coverage or assisting you with filing a lawsuit against the driver responsible for your injuries, our Florida car accident lawyers are up to the task.
We work on contingency, so it doesn’t cost you anything upfront to hire us – and we only receive attorney’s fees if we obtain compensation for you. If you’re ready to get started, give us a call today to set up your free case review.