Being hit by another driver in West Palm Beach, FL, is always a frustrating experience. But it can be downright exasperating when the other driver flees the scene in an effort to avoid being accountable for their actions. And it can be horrifying if you are left suffering a serious injury with no one to help.
The experienced West Palm Beach hit-and-run accident attorneys with Hollander Law Firm Accident Injury Lawyers want to help if you’ve been hurt in a crash. Our team has extensive experience handling hit-and-run claims and is prepared to work with authorities and negotiate with insurance providers to secure the compensation you need.
Contact Hollander Law Firm Accident Injury Lawyers by calling (561) 556-7873. We can discuss your legal rights and options during a free case consultation.
How Hollander Law Firm Accident Injury Lawyers Can Help After a Hit-and-Run Accident in West Palm Beach
Hollander Law Firm Accident Injury Lawyers is a full-service personal injury law firm that offers a small firm atmosphere with big firm resources. We pull together more than 28 years of legal experience to help our clients with all aspects of their personal injury claims, including:
- Investigating your accident and the factors that contributed to it
- Working with law enforcement to try to defend the fleeing driver
- Exploring all options for legal recovery
- Thoroughly reviewing all applicable insurance policies
- Handling communication on your behalf with police and insurance companies
- Negotiating fair compensation for your claim
Our dedicated legal advocacy has resulted in recovering tens of millions of dollars in recovery. Contact our auto accident attorneys today in West Palm Beach, Florida, to retain our services.
Florida Law on Hit-and-Run Accidents
Florida law requires anyone involved in an accident involving injury, serious injury, or death must stop at the scene of the crash, render aid, and exchange certain information with the other driver. Failing to do so can result in criminal charges, including being charged with a felony in the first degree. Under Florida law, the information the driver must provide includes:
- Their name
- Their address
- The registration number of the vehicle they are driving
If requested, the driver must show their driver’s license.
Importantly in the hit-and-run accident context, Florida is a no-fault state when it comes to car insurance. All drivers are required to purchase personal injury protection (PIP) coverage, which they can utilize in the event of an accident regardless of who is at fault.
This can provide some financial relief in a hit-and-run accident as you will not need to locate the driver in order to benefit from this coverage. If the accident was serious enough, as defined by Florida law, you may file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver should they be located.
Penalties for Hit-and-Run Accidents in West Palm Beach, FL
Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) states the following potential penalties that can be imposed for a hit-and-run offense:
- Accidents involving only property damage – A second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days in prison and a $500 fine
- Accidents involving one or more injuries – A second or third-degree felony, punishable by up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine, along with the revocation of their driver’s license for at least three years
- Accidents involving a fatality – A first-degree felony, punishable by a minimum of four years in prison, up to 30 years in prison, a $10,000 fine, and revocation of their driver’s license for at least three years
In addition to any criminal penalties, the offender can also be required to pay for the damages they cause to people injured in the accident.
Dangers of Hit-and-Run Accidents
Hit-and-run accidents can be particularly dangerous because the driver may have injured others and left them behind. They may be seriously injured since many hit-and-run accidents occur at high speeds. In a typical situation, the driver would stop and render aid. In a hit-and-run situation, the driver flees the scene, so the accident victims do not receive the care they need. This also leaves them vulnerable to being hit by others.
Why Hit-and-Run Accidents Occur in West Palm Beach
Some of the most common reasons a driver may commit a hit-and-run in West Palm Beach, Florida, include:
- The driver was under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- The driver was committing a crime at the time of the accident, such as driving a stolen vehicle or fleeing from police
- The driver was driving the vehicle without a license or registration
- The driver was driving the vehicle on a suspended or expired license
In some situations, the driver may lack legal citizenship status or be a young, inexperienced driver who is afraid to stop. Regardless of the reason, you should not be expected to pay for someone else’s mistake. Our legal team can help you seek compensation from the party responsible for your accident or from your insurance benefits.
Compensation Available for Hit-and-Run Accident Claims in Florida
You can seek compensation for all of the accident-related damages you experience (economic and non-economic), including:
- Past and future medical expenses
- Lost income and diminished earning capacity
- Damaged personal property
- Pain and suffering
- Mental anguish
- Out-of-pocket expenses
Our team will help you track down the offender who caused your injuries. If this is not possible, we can help you file a claim with your uninsured motorist coverage up to the limits of your policy. We can thoroughly review all insurance policies that apply in the situation and help you maximize your recovery.
Set Up a Free Consultation With an Experienced West Palm Beach Hit-and-Run Accident Attorney
If you were injured in a hit-and-run crash, you do not have to go through the claims process alone. Contact Hollander Law Firm Accident Injury Lawyers. Our West Palm Beach hit-and-run accident attorneys can discuss your legal rights and options during a free case review.