Fort Lauderdale Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyer

Being involved in any type of car accident is a traumatizing experience, but a hit-and-run can create an extra layer of stress and inconvenience. You may never locate the driver, causing a financial burden through no fault of your own. 

If you’re dealing with this unfortunate situation, a Fort Lauderdale hit-and-run accident attorney at Hollander Law Firm Accident Injury Lawyers can help.

Our legal team has more than 28 years of experience in personal injury law, and we’ve recovered millions of dollars for our injured clients throughout South Florida. 

Contact our Fort Lauderdale, Florida law office at (954) 287-0566 or reach out to us online to schedule a free consultation with an experienced personal injury lawyer. We’ll listen to what happened in your hit-and-run collision and explain your potential options for compensation. 

How Our Fort Lauderdale Car Accident Lawyers Can Help After a Hit-and-Run Collision

How Our Fort Lauderdale Car Accident Lawyers Can Help After a Hit-and-Run Collision

If you were injured in a hit-and-run accident in Fort Lauderdale, FL, don’t give up hope on locating the driver and pursuing compensation for your damages.

The experienced legal team at Hollander Law Firm Accident Injury Lawyers is here to help you seek the financial recovery you deserve. 

If you hire our Fort Lauderdale car accident attorneys for help after a hit-and-run, we’ll: 

  • Gather evidence and monitor police investigations of the hit-and-run
  • Identify all potential avenues for compensation, including third-party claims
  • Consult experts, such as accident reconstructionists, to prove causation and other elements of your claim 
  • Document and calculate your economic and non-economic damages to determine what your claim is worth
  • Negotiate with insurance companies to obtain a settlement on your behalf or file a personal injury lawsuit and represent you in court if necessary 

Contact our Fort Lauderdale hit-and-run accident lawyers to discover why creating an attorney-client relationship is beneficial. 

What Is Considered a Hit-and-Run Accident in Fort Lauderdale, Florida?

Florida law imposes certain obligations on drivers if they’re involved in car accidents. For instance, you must immediately call the police if the accident caused an injury, fatality, or apparent property damage exceeding $500. 

In crashes involving injuries, death, or property damage, all drivers must: 

  • Immediately stop their vehicle at the accident scene (or as close to it as possible if it’s an unsafe location or unnecessarily obstructs traffic) 
  • Exchange information with other drivers or involved parties
  • Render reasonable assistance to anyone who is injured until help arrives

It’s illegal to leave the accident scene without fulfilling these duties, and a conviction could result in the following penalties: 

  • A second-degree misdemeanor if the accident caused property damage
  • A third-degree felony if the accident caused injuries 
  • A second-degree felony if the accident caused serious bodily injury 
  • A first-degree felony if the accident caused a fatality 

In addition to criminal punishment, a hit-and-run driver could face civil liability for the losses they caused, such as medical expenses, lost wages, and pain and suffering. 

How Often Do Hit-and-Run Accidents Occur in Broward County, Florida? 

The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) reports that statewide hit-and-run crashes rose by over 17% between 2020 and 2021.

According to the Florida Crash Dashboard, there were 109,646 hit-and-run collisions in 2021. They caused 306 fatalities and 24,379 injuries. Out of those accidents, 12,992 occurred in Broward County, causing 34 fatalities and 2,397 injuries. That means nearly 12% of the state’s hit-and-run crashes occurred in Broward County in 2021. 

As of December 15, 2022, 98,539 statewide hit-and-run crashes have been reported, causing 241 deaths and 21,358 injuries. Broward County accounted for 9,574 hit-and-runs, resulting in 31 fatalities and 1,888 injuries. That’s nearly 10% of the Sunshine State’s hit-and-run accidents.  

Why Do Drivers Leave the Accident Scene In Florida? 

Florida drivers may leave the scene of a car accident for many reasons, including: 

  • They’re driving without a valid license 
  • Their driving privileges have been revoked
  • There’s a warrant out for their arrest
  • They’re driving under the influence or have illegal substances in the vehicle 
  • They don’t have auto insurance
  • They’re scared of the legal consequences
  • They stole the vehicle or are fleeing from a crime scene
  • Immigration status concerns

We will work with law enforcement and use our resources to identify the hit-and-run driver. For example, there may be video surveillance footage of the crash, eyewitnesses, and other evidence available to help us locate the driver. 

However, even if we never identify who caused the collision, you might have other options for pursuing compensation after a hit-and-run wreck in Fort Lauderdale, FL. 

How Can I Recover Compensation After a Hit-and-Run Accident in Fort Lauderdale, Florida? 

The answer to this question depends on many factors, such as:

  • The insurance coverage you have
  • The severity of your injuries
  • Whether the hit-and-run driver is located
  • If the hit-and-run driver is found, the insurance coverage they have

In Florida, drivers are required to carry personal injury protection (PIP) and property damage liability (PDL) insurance. If you’re involved in a collision, you must first turn to your own PIP insurance for your medical expenses and lost wages, regardless of who caused the accident. 

However, if your expenses exceed the policy limits ($10,000 unless you purchased additional coverage), you can typically pursue compensation from the at-fault driver: 

  • You may file a claim against their PDL insurance for property damage
  • If they have optional bodily injury liability (BIL) coverage, you can file a claim against that policy for medical costs and other losses. 
  • You can pursue a personal injury claim against them if they don’t have BIL.

If the hit-and-run motorist is never found, you may have other options. For example, you may have purchased optional uninsured motorist (UM) coverage. This policy applies if you’re involved with a driver without liability insurance and usually covers hit-and-run collisions.

Additionally, other parties could share liability, such as negligent third parties, manufacturers of defective products, and government entities. Therefore, you have many potential options after a hit-and-run.

An experienced Fort Lauderdale car accident lawyer will review your situation and identify all avenues for compensation, including insurance claims and personal injury cases.

Contact Our Fort Lauderdale, FL Car Crash Lawyer for a Free Initial Consultation

Were you injured in a hit-and-run accident in Fort Lauderdale, FL? Contact Hollander Law Firm Accident Injury Lawyers for immediate assistance.

If we cannot find the driver who fled the scene, we’ll help you identify and pursue compensation from other sources and seek justice. 

Call today for a free case evaluation with an experienced car accident lawyer in Fort Lauderdale.

Other Common Car Accident Claims We Handle

Our car accident attorneys in Fort Lauderdale handle all types of auto claims:

Additional Resources