What Should You Do If Hit While Driving Someone Else’s Car?

It can be difficult to know what to do in the aftermath of a car crash. When you’re driving someone else’s car, it can be even more so. Trying to figure out how to get your medical bills paid and the vehicle fixed can be difficult. The first thing to know is that insurance typically follows the vehicle no matter who is driving the car, though there are some exceptions. 

The steps you take after an accident involving someone else’s vehicle are usually the same as those you would take if you were involved in an accident in your own car. A personal injury lawyer can help you navigate the process. 

Report the Accident 

Florida law requires any driver to report a car accident that involves injury, death, or over $500 in property damage, which includes virtually any accident. Once you report the accident to the police, an officer can respond to the scene and prepare a report. 

Car accident reports contain crucial evidence about the accident, such as:

  • The time, date, and location of the accident
  • Road and weather conditions
  • A diagram of the scene 
  • Driver and witness statements

Sometimes, the report may indicate the other driver was cited for a traffic violation or who is to blame for the accident. 

Get the Other Driver’s Information 

You should get the other driver’s information at the scene of the crash, including the following:

  • Their name
  • Contact information
  • Vehicle information, including year, make, and model
  • Insurance information 
  • Driver’s license number 

Keep it brief and do not discuss fault. 

Document the Scene 

The accident scene will quickly be cleaned up so that it does not pose a danger to other motorists. Before this happens,  it’s essential that you document the scene before it’s too late. Use your cell phone camera to take pictures and videos of the accident scene and any visible injuries.

File a Claim 

Florida is a no-fault state for car insurance, so you will typically turn to Personal Injury Protection (PIP) for coverage first, regardless of fault. This coverage provides up to $10,000 per person per crash to cover expenses like medical bills and lost wages stemming from the accident, up to certain percentages and policy limits. Each driver’s individual policy also provides $10,000 in property damage liability per crash, which covers damages to the other vehicle due to their own negligence. 

If your damages exceed the amount of PIP coverage, you may have to file a claim against the at-fault driver. 

If the at-fault driver was uninsured or underinsured, you may be able to file a claim with your uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. 

Seek Medical Attention 

You may be taken immediately from the crash site to the emergency room. If not, seek medical attention promptly after an accident so your injuries can be properly diagnosed and treated.

Document Your Damages 

Keep your medical records and documentation of all of the damages you suffered because of the accident, including:

  • Bills for emergency room visits, hospital stays, doctor’s visits, follow-up appointments, medical devices, and medication
  • Lost wages, income, and employment benefits
  • Reduced earning capacity
  • Pain and suffering 
  • Car repairs
  • Rental vehicle expenses

Provide this information to your lawyer so they can build a demand package and fight for your fair compensation. 

Contact an Experienced Car Accident Lawyer 

A car accident lawyer can help explore your legal options after an accident. An attorney can help you file a claim with the car owner’s PIP policy, the at-fault driver’s liability policy, or your own car insurance policy. This can be a complicated process, and you may have to assert certain claims before asserting others. 

A lawyer can also advise whether you should file a personal injury claim against the at-fault party to obtain compensation for the full extent of your damages. 

Contact Our Car Accident Law Firm in South Florida

If you’ve been injured in an accident, please contact our experienced personal injury lawyers in Florida at Hollander Law Firm Accident Injury Lawyers to schedule a free consultation today. We have three convenient locations in Boca RatonFort Lauderdale, and West Palm Beach.

We proudly serve Palm Beach CountyBroward County, and its surrounding areas:

Hollander Law Firm Accident Injury Lawyers – Boca Raton Law Office
7000 W Palmetto Park Rd #500
Boca Raton, FL 33433
(561) 347-7770

Hollander Law Firm Accident Injury Lawyers – Fort Lauderdale Law Office
200 S.E. 6th Street #203
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
(954) 287-0566

Hollander Law Firm Accident Injury Lawyers – West Palm Beach Law Office
319 Clematis St #203
West Palm Beach, FL 33401
(561) 556-7873